"Binary" Premiere of 4 Hand Arrangement
Place & Time
Center for New Music, 55 Taylor St., San Francisco
55 Taylor Street, San Francisco, CA, 94102
San Francisco CA
January 25, 2020
January 25, 2020
Contact Info
Media Contacts: Nanette McGuinness / David Garner / Stephanie Neumann/ Brennan Stokes/

San Francisco —To start the new decade, contemporary chamber group Ensemble for These Times (Nanette McGuinness, soprano/co-founder, Anne Lerner-Wright, cello, Dale Tsang, piano, and co-founder/composer David Garner) will perform a concert of music by women composers, “Blooming Flowers: Music by Women Composers,” on Saturday, January 25, 2020, at 7:30 p.m. at the Center for New Music. The program features the World Premiere of “Blooming Flowers, Full Moon,” for piano trio by Chinese Call for Scores composer Weiwei Miao (b. 1985), along with works by nine other women composers: Ellen Taaffe Zwilich (b. 1942; the first woman to win the Pulitzer Prize in music); Victoria Bond (b. 1945; American Academy of Arts and Letters Miriam Gideon Prize winner); Chinese-American Chen Yi (b. 1953; American Academy of Arts and Letters Ives Living Award winner); Lori Laitman (b. 1955; Opera America Discovery Grant awardee); Serbian-American composer Aleksandra Vrebalov (b. 1970; Kronos Quartet Fifty for the Future); Ellen Mandel (b. 1957); Jessica Rudman (b. 1982; Connecticut Artist Fellow); Canadian composer Vivian Fung (b. 1975; 2012 Guggenheim Fellow); and Audrey Call (1905-2001). Composer Weiwei Miao will appear to speak about her music.

Back to List
Back to Top