"Binary" performed by Ensemble for These Times
Place & Time
Center for New Music
55 Taylor Street
San Francisco CA
January 25, 2020
January 25, 2020

San Francisco — After a hugely successful 11th Bay Area Home Season, contemporary chamber group Ensemble for These Times (Nanette McGuinness, soprano/co-founder, Anne Lerner-Wright, cello, Dale Tsang, piano, and co-founder/composer David Garner) eagerly announces “Mothers & Daughters,” its exciting upcoming 2019/20 season, one marked by diversity, innovation, and unexpected musical twists. The centerpiece of the season will be “Mothers & Daughters,” the group’s newest commissioning initiative, presented on International Women’s Day, with commissions by Bay Area treasure, Elinor Armer (“Matrix,” funded by InterMusic SF’s Musical Grant Program), E4TT’s David Garner (“The Light Within the Dark”) and emerging composer Brennan Stokes (“Mother Love”), along with works by Anna Clyne, Chen Yi, and William Grant Still. Season programming will also include a concert of music by nine women composers, plus the World Premiere of Chinese Call for Scores composer Weiwei Miao’s piano trio, “Blooming Flowers, Full Moon;” the conclusion of E4TT’s first Call for Scores series, with 56x54: Solo Cello; the continuation of “Emigres & Exiles in Hollywood” series, with “Dracula Rising: Ghosts of Hollywood Past” at SF Music Day and other venues. The 12th season will close with the group’s return to Old First Concerts and a program called “Dreams of Distant Lands” (funded by the Alice M. Ditson Fund of Columbia University), music by composers who were oppressed in their time or who missed their homelands from afar.

Additional Information

The 2019/20 season will continue on January 25, 2020 at the Center for New Music in San Francisco with “Blooming Flowers: Music by Women Composers.” For this concert, McGuinness, Lerner-Wright, E4TT pianist Dale Tsang, and guest violinist Ilana Blumberg will premiere a commissioned work, “Blooming Flowers, Full Moon,” by Chinese Call for Scores composer, Weiwei Miao (b. 1985), along with works by nine other women composers: Ellen Taafe Zwillich (b. 1942; the first woman to win the Pulitzer Prize in music); Victoria Bond (b. 1945; American Academy of Arts and Letters Miriam Gideon Prize winner); Chinese-American Chen Yi (b. 1953; American Academy of Arts and Letters Ives Living Award winner); Lori Laitman (b. 1955; Opera America Discovery Grant awardee); Serbian-American composer Aleksandra Vrebalov (b. 1970; Kronos Quartet Fifty for the Future); Ellen Mandel (b. 1957); Jessica Rudman (b. 1982; Connecticut Artist Fellow); Canadian composer Vivian Fung (b. 1975; 2012 Guggenheim Fellow); and Audrey Call (1905-2001).

Back to List
Back to Top